Posted by: outroversion | April 18, 2011

Interview: Brigette Aphrodite

For someone who knows a generic review when they see one, it has to be said, to be described as “glitter fuelled mind fuck” is perhaps one of the most colourful phrases I’ve heard in a while. It was used in reference to Bridgitte Aphrodite, a recent signing to Kate Nash’s new project ‘Have 10p’ Records, which Nash set up in order to give something back to the industry while she steps slightly out of the limelight. A fiesty madame hailing from suburban saaaf London, Bridgette offers a frank expression of her experiences as a Bromley gal, delivered in intervals of spoken word, wry comical anecdotes and song in her thick Landan dialect with a no messin, punk influenced attitude to boot. Bridgitte began gigging in the unforgiving comedy circuit, and stepped over to the music scene upon meeting Kate, who’s influence is noticeable in songs such as ‘Zombie ex girlfriend’ and ‘I Dream Myself Awake’ her first single released earlier this month.

She is currently doing the rounds in a camper van, clouting audiences  around the country from north to south with her girl next door charm, before embarking on big spangling festivals Latitude and Bestival, where we think she’ll slot in rather nicely. She very kindly took time out of her hectic tour schedule to ‘av a word about overcoming rejection, zombies and of course, Kate Nash. Innit.

Introduction by Chloe

Outro Interviews: Brigitte Aphrodite

Good evening Brigitte, I hope the weather hasn’t been too schizophrenic for you. Have you been able to enjoy the weather of the various cities while you’ve been on tour?

Its been raining a lot, but since it’s nice today me and kate have sat in the sun and had some tasty food.

Is there one thing that you look for in each town? For example, I could compile a pretty juicy A-Z of cheesecakes from my jaunts to various venues in towns over the years…

I look for a shower- me and the band sleep in a camper van called Mini Winnie so showers are a precious important thing!

One thing I was struck by was your stage manner, you have the confidence of a stand up comic (a good one) which seems at odds with the way bands usually address audiences. We’re aware of your comedic roots and wonder- how you draw upon these aspects when performing live? Do you feel you have an edge over other performers who are little less comfortable one on one with audiences?

I feel less afraid of what a music crowd has to throw at me now. When I was gigging the comedy circuit it was like been thrown out to the lions- at one gig in south London I must have been up there for 40 seconds before some one shouted ‘DROP DEAD!’ How I carried on that set I will never know. I dont think I’ve got ‘edge’ over other musicians for being a jesterial type of girl but I do think I’ve got rhinoceros skin. When I’m in a jokey mood, being sarcastic or self deprecating, it takes the audience by surprise. Surprise is an important element of my live shows as it is with birthdays and christmas. and kinder eggs.

How is your set list looking at the moment? Is it healthy and ready for a headline tour or are you going to be adding more songs to your arsenal over the next year?

Hell yeahhh! I’ve got quite a few new songs. Its weird though, I treat new songs like mini plays or a movie or something. I tend to start writing as an outlet for how I feel about something and then I have to make it audible to other people, let them ferment like a fine wine. Oh flippin heck I’m a wanky wanker wank ball.

Which do you prefer, singing or comedy or have they become like loaded potato skins for you in that there’s always going to be a little bit of everything in there?

There are similarities. The songs I’m writing now aren’t very funny. I mean, there is wit in there but not ‘LOL ROFL’ funny.  I also write comedy with a girl called Lucy Thackeray, she’s brilliant, my funny bone is with her at moment. We want to have a show one day like our comedy idols French and Saunders. I dont think just cos you do one thing you can’t do another, or mix em like a cock tail. I’d also like to have a cookery show when im 50, involving all the cool food my dad has
taught me to cook.

Is there anywhere online where people can see any of your sketches or comedic interludes that you could point us in the direction of?

Yeah Zombie ex Girlfriend– me and Lucy did this film with no budget and we are really proud of it. (I’m the zombie)

Alot of people probably ask you about Kate Nash and how you met, her influence on you, your friendship and your signing to her label. These are of course pertinent questions but summing all that into one paragraph would be a pretty powerful rent-a-quote, do you feel this is possible or is your relationship far too complex for such restrictions?

It’s weird- she’s an inspiration and a friend- she’s on me i pod, I like her opinions, her heart and her soft skin. She makes me take my self more seriously but she is still very funny, and she’s given me a platform to do my music. Her music is progressive generous honest magical punk. yeah she’s alright!

We’d love to know more about you years- your musical and comedic influences, what you did after highschool and the such. Did you go into further education? Stageschool? Any advice for “the kids”?

I waitressed a lot., failed the old gcse’s, but got in to a wicked acting school called East 15 after being rejected from them twice.. it was absolutely fabulous. Mighty boosh french and saunders got me into comedy, and I snogged the real milky bar kid as a teenager (he was a teenager at the time) As for advice to the kids fuck teachers who put you down…  rejection makes you a cooler more interesting person even though you want to gauge your own brain out when your experiencing it. My life so far has been built on rejection- fuck conformity

Is there anyone else on the radar at the moment who you might also be seen sharing a stage with in the future?

The Dead Fronts, Daytona Lights, Lou Lou and the Lamp Shades- all pretty new bands that rock me.

Is there anyone in your life who you are particularly inspired by either creatively or in your personal life?

My nan, she’s so sharp, eccentric, glamorous and funny.

What are your plans for 2011?

Well there’s my second single, a slot at Bestival and Latitude and of course my own tour!

Your music has been described as a “glitter fueled mind fuck”. Is this a compliment?!

It sounds like one. BIG COMPLIMENT

Do you mind if I ask for your opinion on a few artists that are either
current or relevant to you-

The Vaccines?  haven’t seen em live yet I’d like to

Eliza Doolittle?  very sweet girl.  She likes whistling.

Emmy the great? really beautiful stuff. I heard a wicked cover of where is my mind other day she truly is great. WHHHHHHEEEEEEEYYY!

Kate Nash? She shakes me

What do you hope people will get from your music?

Joyous bloody glittery guts and gore with a side portion of my middle

Who would be a dream collaborator and why?

Jarvis Cocker. he has been my biggest inspiration lyricly, and with showman ship and how he struggled and worked for years and years to make a life out of is art..since i was really young ive been obsessed with his work and taste and mind  he still gets my insides now. hes the king of the outsider. i would love to work with him. i listen to is radio show on 6 music on a sunday and pretend im having a roast dinner with him. too far?

Brigitte, thankyou for your time and your music. We hope your musical path crosses our way again soon.

Questions from Simon, Chloe and Kirsten

Leave a Reply

Categories

