Posted by: outroversion | September 28, 2010

TWLOHA #5

Every now and then I like to write about TWLOHA, here are my previous posts #1, #2, #3 and #4.

People often say they enjoy the personal nature of this site and these posts are the most personal things I could imagine doing. I’m posting it on the same day a great post about death cab goes up so it’s not going to be replacing a music post, hope can be found anywhere and they’re just here if anyone stumbles upon them who might be looking for hope or inspiration.

________________

Today I am one year sober. That’s one battle i’m winning. Addiction whether it be to alcohol, drugs, gambling, eating or whatever; if you can beat it there is ultimate power to be found in that and you will find it helps other areas of your life too.

It doesn’t solve all problems of course but it eliminates one of them. I’ve been on anti-depressants for 2 and 1/2 years but know things would be a lot worse if other areas weren’t under control even if that isn’t.

It’s important to find things that inspire you. I’ve been using Anthony Robbins works recently and more than anything it’s started my days off in a way that it would be difficult to be dragged all the way back down into the states where it’s difficult to come back from.

It doesn’t have to be a life coach, it can be inspirational quotes, songs, lyrics or poetry. Things you’ve experienced, things you’ve achieved, lives you’ve touched in positive ways.

To be honest I hate that when someone dies it’s not just them that is affected but all their family and friends, I wish it was easier but I guess the reason it isn’t is so it’s another reason to stay strong. One of a million. We’ve won battles every day of our lives, even before we were born. It might be easier for some but then it’s easy for Usain Bolt to run 100m in 9 seconds- some people would see running that at all as an achievement. So it’s not unseemly to see getting out of bed, or going out the house, or staying awake as achieving a goal. Our minds and bodies are muscles. The more we do anything the better we get and the easier it becomes.

I’ve just started a new job and I ached like hell after, my arms still do. There wasn’t much lifting but because I hadn’t been working that area of my body it killed. Because I hadn’t stayed on my feet for 6 hours at a time, my legs killed. Because I hadn’t stayed up past 12pm in a while, that killed. Because I hadn’t been expected to talk to strangers for a while that exhausted me.

But I know that next time it will be easier.

The reason I’m telling you this is the first time I lost someone close to me- that killed.

The second time. Just as bad.

The third time. The worst.

Fourth time. Just as bad.

Fifth time. Easier.

Sixth time. Easier again.

Seventh time. I was able to be there for people who needed it.

The fact is, the more experience you have, the more you can pass that on to people. I’m talking about any area here. In the above area it’s meant i’ve learned what was hardest for me and now am able to make the process easier for me but best of all help others through it too.

Think about that. Any hard time you’ve had and got through, if you spoke to someone who had the same problem they needn’t go through it, or at least have more than what you had- they have you. Sometimes that’s all someone needs. But everyone needs someone, no matter how strong they are. Never stop trying to strengthen your foundations and enhancing your support group but be part of that for someone else too.

Sorry if i’ve rambled a bit. These posts are a bit of an outlet for me in stuff i’d love to be able to say to people and also a way of reminding myself.

Thankyou for reading my site, I put everything I have into it.

Take care.

Over and outroversion.

Responses

  1. thanks

  2. […] Every now and then I like to write about TWLOHA, here are my previous posts #1, #2, #3, #4 and #5. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

