Posted by: outroversion | August 19, 2010

Stars- Fairytale of new york

Stars

Some songs are considered untouchable, nobody would ever dream of covering them. I’m talking about tracks like Bohemian Rhapsody and Lennon’s Imagine. The pogues Fairytale of New York does in no way fall into this category.

Yes, the original has a certain quintessential British charm which is why a lot of people place it on the highest of pedestals and yes, there is a BIT of history behind it that is purely relevant to that version. I say a bit as the lyrics aren’t as profound as some people might assume, so in reality it doesn’t actually have that much going for it. I do like it though, there’s just some things I wish I could change about it…

Upon hearing the stars version I felt like christmas’ from now on would be alright, I wouldn’t have to listen to Kirsty McColl’s bad Oliver audition style vocals and a slurring brit, I now had the option of listening to the beauty of Montreal’s Stars. I’d be concerned that some people might dismiss this cover but think about it, why do you like the original?… Yeah, just download this and you won’t have to worry about coming up with an eloquent answer to that one.

MP3s:

Stars: Fairytale of new york

Original: Fairytale of New York

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sarah Penrose and Sarah Penrose, Simon D.. Simon D. said: Stars- Fairytale of new york: http://wp.me/pOiYa-j6 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

