Posted by: outroversion | February 18, 2010

Real Talk: The move to wordpress.

Sorry I haven’t posted for a few days, I wanted to let the dust settle.

Some of you may be wondering why I moved from blogger. I just want to be straight up about this-

I’m thankful that the outroversion blog had become popular but I started to disagree on a fundamental level about why it was attracting attention.

You might say it’s a bit faceatious saying that I disagree with file-sharing and i’m not saying that, it’s mass file sharing I have got an issue with. Let me explain the issue-

A band’s album leaks two weeks before its release, someone gives you a copy and you listen to it and review it and send it to a few friends on the back of your initial excitement and if it’s good enough, you buy it when it actually comes out and recommend other people to buy it. I think this is perfectly healthy.

To get a leak 2 weeks before it comes out and your first thought being to post it on your blog before anyone else to get more hits, is not healthy and is not cool.

I posted Broadcast 2000 and Marina and the Diamonds on here before they’d even gotten near my itunes. These are two artists I hold in high esteem and it was at that point I realised that the blog had become something I didn’t want to be a part of.

On a sidenote, yes- I think blogger shutting down established blogs without warning is wrong. And yes, my dinosaur computer seems to like the format of wordpress alot more.

Basically this is the deal, i’m really proud of the original content I put on the blog and that is what I’m going to be focussing on with mp3s posted for evaluative purposes.

If this loses me readers then so be it, at least i’ll be able to sleep a little easier at night.

Responses

  1. i think thats very thoughtful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

